Space
Corner Contact Us
Grand Trunk Goods For The Road Space
Shopping Trunk
Space

Join Our Email List
Corner Space
Camp Accessories   |   Tents and Shelters   |   Travel Gear   |   Eco Travel Bags   |   Hammocks   |   Save the Tatas   |   Beach Gear   |   Zebra Stainless Steel   |   FAQ's
Corner
Where will the road take you today
Login Register
Search Store  
Home >> Reviews/Press


st. petersburg times logo

Grand Trunk Road Towel in the Holiday 2009 Gift Guide (12/4/09)

By: Terry Tomalin

About this time every year, I start cleaning out my garage. I'm not a neat freak, but I do have to make room for all the new equipment Santa will be dropping off at my house in a few weeks. You see, looking back on the past year, I must admit that I have been a very, very good outdoors editor. I've camped, fished, surfed, paddled, sailed and hiked more than most, and I've avoided dress pants and neck ties as often as possible. As a result, much of my gear has taken a beating. It's time to upgrade, expand, get newer, fancier, lighter stuff so I can stay outdoors and out of the office even more next year. So with that in mind, here are a few things I hope Mr. Claus will add to my inventory Christmas day.

Click here for full artical

 

Arizona Bushman: Weekend Camping and Product Reviews

 

 

 

OR Show Daily Summer Market 2009 Digest

Summer Market 2009

 

Grand Trunk’s Design Goal: ‘Light, Fast, Easy and Fun’

 

By: margie

Published: July 21st, 2009

The shade of Grand Trunks easy-to-set-up tents looked quite appealing in the heat of a day on Pineview Reservoir. Owner Kevin Kaiser demonstrates how easy it is to set up the tents, collapsing one and then instantly reassembling it by pulling on the top mechanism. During tough economic times, the concept of fast-and-easy camping gear is catching on with everyone from families to travelers to the festivarian set.

The company is finding even more success with small, smart travel accessories that move well at retail. Grand Trunk offers ingenious little objects like traveling chopsticks and a collapsible aluminum travel hanger.

“Accessories are necessities,” said Kaiser, noting that all the company’s accessories retail between $15 and $30. “That’s the magic number. In this market, people don’t want to spend a lot of money on gear like a backpack.”

Grand Trunk does not offer cheap gear, but rather innovative products with a focus on fast, light, easy and fun. For example, the Uinta tent is four-person, three-season polyester shelter that requires no assembly. It includes a gear loft and a 19-foot vestibule and weighs in at 15 pounds—not a backpacking shelter, but ideal for car camping or hanging out at an event. The Road Towel is a camp towel with a buckle, making it safe and simple to drop trow in a crowded parking lot.

Grand Trunk does appeal to the fast-and-light crowd too. Its new 6.6-ounce hammock built with rip-stop nylon is the lightest on the market.

“We take a product put our signature on it. We make it cooler, easier and convenient,” said Kaiser. “I’m lazy. I like convenient.”

 

Arizona Bushman - Grand Trunk Hammock Review

 

 

 

Outdoorzy.com - Reviews the Nano 7 Hammock

"...I just got a Nano 7 Travel Hammock from Grand Trunk. If there was a hammock award for being ultralight, this one would take the prize. It is the lightest non-rope hammock on the market to date..."  

-Wade, Outdoorzy.com

Click here to see the entire review.

 

The Outdoor Blog Tests the Roatan Hammock (7/10/09)

The Outdoor Blog's field tester, Amanda Wilson, tests the Roatan hammock.  The verdict - "...a very good traditional hammock....perfect for backyard lounging or a car camping trip..."

Click Here for more info.

 

BackpackerGearTest.org Reviews the Nano-7 Hammock

backpacker gear test logo

The Nano 7 Hammock is THE LIGHTEST HAMMOCK IN THE WORLD!!  6.7 oz with the lightweight carabiners included makes this hammock a must have for your next outdoor adventure. 

Check out what the testers at BackpackerGearTest.org have to say about the Nano 7 Hammock

 

The New York Times Review of the Grand Trunk Double Hammock (7/16/09)

 

new york times logo

The  New York Times conducts a series of field test on a variety of popular hammocks on the market. 

"...by far the simplest set up...just wrap it around the tree, cinch and hook, and it doesn’t require any knots, which is great..."

- Banjo Weymouth, New York Times Reviwer

Click Here for entire atrical.

 

NANO-7 Hammock Review on YouTube.com

 

 

CPSC and Grand Trunk Announce Recall of Single and Double Parachuter Nylon Hammocks

Skokie, IL. - In cooperation with the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), The Travel Hammock, Inc. dba Grand Trunk, of Skokie, IL is recalling about 2,500 single and double parachute nylon hammocks.  Defective s-hook's that were not properly heat treated on the hammock can break, possibly causing injury to hammock occupants.  Consumers can suffer serious injuries due to failed s-hook(s).

Affected products include single and double parachute nylon hammocks sold between July 1, 2008 and June 1, 2009.  They have model numbers of SH-01 (Single Olive/Khaki), SH-02 (Single Lt. Blue/Navy), SH-06 (Single Royal/Khaki), DH-01 (Double Olive/Khaki), DH-02 (Double Yellow/Lt Blue), DH-03 (Double Navy/Silver) and DH-04 (Double Navy/Red).  Only the above mentioned item numbers with a silk-screened Grand Trunk logo on the product stuff sack are affected. 

There products were sold through online retailers, specialty outdoor shops nationwide.  These products were sold between July 1, 2008 and June 1, 2009, $49.99 for a single hammock and $59.99 for a double hammock. 

Consumers should stop using these hammocks immediately, call The Travel Hammock, Inc, dba Grand Trunk for replacement carabiners in place of the defective s-hooks.  For more information, call The Travel Hammock, Inc dba Grand Trunk at (877) 365-2965 between the hours of 9 am and 5 pm CST Monday - Friday. 



Space
Space
Corner Shopping Trunk Shopping Trunk
Shop online, in-store, by phone, or our Extra service
Line Find a store Where to buy
Find your nearest and most convenient Grand Trunk store.
Line News Grand Trunk News
Get the latest news and updates from
Grand Trunk.
Corner
     Home   |   Blog   |   About Us   |   Why Grand Trunk?   |   Facebook   |   Twitter   |   Reviews/Press   |   Dealer Access   |   Events   |   GT History   |   Grand Trunk Rewards
Space
     Customer Care 877-365-2965  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map  |  © 2009 Grand Trunk. All Rights Reserved TwitterFacebook
Space
Online Payment Service

Space